01 April Saturday

BJP Loses Governance In Pandanad Panchayat; CPI(M) Member New President

Web Desk(Tvm)Updated: Saturday Jul 16, 2022

Mannar : LDF wins presidential post  at Pandanad with  CPI(M)'s Jayin Jinu Jacob becoming the  new president defeating BJP’s Shailaja Reghuram in  a  7 : 5 lead. Congress members supported LDF. BJP member, Asha Vijayan, who made scathing criticisms against leadership resigned her panchayat membership as well as BJP’s party membership.

In the 12-member panchayat committee, CPI(M) has 5 members, BJP 5 and Congress 2.  Chengannur Taluk Supplyco officer, Susan Chacko, presided over the election.

CPI(M)  moved the no-confidence motion against BJP vice president,  TC Surendran Nayar. And although Congress stayed away from the voting, Manjoj Kumar from CPI(M) was elected as vice president through drawing of lots.

The ouster today  a setback for BJP as it cedes governance in idistrict president Gopakumar’s own panchayat.

BJP was ousted similarly in Chennithala’s Thriparuthura through no-confidence vote. CPI(M) Local Committee accorded welcome to Jayin Jacob. The event was presided by Vatsala Mohan and Local Secretary TA Bennykutty.