23 March Thursday

Sitaram Yechury CPI(M) General Secretary Once Again

Web Desk(TVM)Updated: Sunday Apr 10, 2022


EK Nayanar Nagar: Sitaram Yechury has been elected once again as CPI(M) General Secretary at the 23rd Party Congress that concluded  Sunday. 85 members have been  elected for the Central Committee and 17 veterans into the Polit Bureau.

This is the third stint in a row that Yechury has been elected to the party top post. Yechury’s first elation as CPI(M) General Secretary came at 23th Party Congress held in 2015 in Vishakapattanam and at the subsequent Party Congress held in Hyderabad in 2018. Other Polit Bureau members are Prakash Karat, Manik Sarkar, Pinarayi Vijayan, VV Ragavulu, Brinda Karat, Kodiyeri Balakrishnan, MA Baby, suryakant Mishra, Mohamed Salim, Subashini Ali, G Ramakrishnan, Tapan Sen, Nilolpel Basu, A . Vijayaraghavan, Ramachandra Dome, and Ashiok Dhavle. A. Vijayarahgavan, Ramachandra Dome and Ashok Dhavle are new-elects replacing three outgoing members S. Ramachandran Pillai, Biman Bose and Hannanmollah. It was decided to stay the Polit Bureau at its present numbers as of now.

The Central Committee inducted 17 new faces of whom, there are three leaders hailing from Kerala. Also, the Central Committee elected 3 women candidates as new members, of whom two are Keralites and one from Bengal. There are a total of 15 women members in the Central Committee. New members from Kerala are : P. Rajeev, KN Balaogopalan, P Satidevi and CS Sujatha. Outgoing Keralite members from the Central Committee were S. Ramachandn Pilai, Vaikom Vishwan and P. Karunakaran. One seat has been left vacant.

The Party Congress condoled demise of MC Josephine who passed away  after collapsing onto the floor at the venue during the culmination hours of the historic event.