28 March Tuesday
Lokanath Behera, Tom Joseph distribute trophies, medals to winners

Carmel crowned champions in CBSE athletic meet

Web Desk‌Updated: Wednesday Dec 21, 2022

Kochi, Dec 20: Carmel Public School, Vazhakulam, has won the overall championship with 277 points at the three-day CBSE Cluster XI School Athletic Meet, which came to a close at the Maharajas’ College and Toc H Public School grounds on Tuesday.

The first runner-up is Bhavan's Vidya Mandir, Eroor with 188 points and while Vidyodaya School, Thevakkal, finished second runner-up with 151 points. In the fourth and fifth place were Bhavan’s Adarsh Vidyalaya, Kakkanad and Chinmaya Vidyalaya, Vaduthala respectively.

The closing ceremony was inaugurated by Mr Lokanath Behera, Managing Director, Kochi Metro Rail Ltd, the chief guest of the function. The guest of honour was Mr. Tom Joseph, Arjuna awardee and former Indian Volleyball Team Captain. Mr Loknath Behera distributed the trophies for the top-performing schools while Mr Tom Joseph distributed the medals and certificates for individual champions.

Dr. K. Varghese,  Chairman,  Organizing Committee and Founder Director and Manager,  Toc H Institutions, presided over the function. CBSE School Management Association President T P M Ibrahim Khan, Toc H Headmistress Sherly Grace John and Toc H Directors Paul Vincent and Pathrose Pankambilli were present. Ms. Meera Thomas,  Vice Principal,  Toc H Public School and Secretary,  Organizing Committee, welcomed the gathering. Mr. Juby Paul,  Principal, Toc H Public School and General Convener, Organizing Committee, presented a kaleidoscopic view of the events.

The dignitaries congratulated the winners, reiterating that the most important thing is participating in the events and exhibiting true sportsmanship.  They congratulated the management, teaching and non-teaching staff of ToC H Public School for conducting the mega event without any glitches though there were many challenges. Raghuram Sajeevan, the school sports captain, proposed a vote of thanks.

Online webcasting of the events was done to enable the general public watch the sports meet. The Athletic Association,  Medical Trust Hospital and J.J. Infotech Private Ltd ably supported the conduct of the event.

The athletic meet that began on December 18 was hosted by the Toc H Public School, which didn’t participate in the event to ensure its credibility beyond doubt.

More than 4000 student-athletes from over 200 CBSE Schools in the seven districts of Thiruvananthapuram, Kollam, Pathanamthitta, Idukki, Kottayam, Alappuzha and Ernakulam districts are vying with each other for honours at the meet.

The following athletes were adjudged individual champions:

Under 14 Boys: Nirmal P John (12 points), Viswadeepthi Public School.
Under 14 Girls: Anila Shebin (14 points), Mary Mount Public School.

Under 17 Boys: Christus Joby from Nirmala Public School, Muvattupuzha, S.R. Rohan from Bhavan’s Vidya Mandir, Girinagar and Ashin Anil from Carmel Public School – all 14 points each.

Under 17 Girls: Elna Elizabeth Praveen from Bhavans Vidya Mandir, Eroor, Hritika Ashok Menon from Chinmaya Vidyalaya, Vaduthala – with 14 points each.

Under 19 Boys: Don D'souza, Mathew Alex and Athul Saju from Carmel Public School - with 14 points each.

Under 19 Girls: Jovita P Joy (14 points) from Bhavans Vidya Mandir, Eroor.