01 October Saturday

Bahrain halts issuance of new work permits to India and five other red list countries

Anas YassinUpdated: Monday Jun 14, 2021

Manama : Bahrain has temporarily halted issuing new work permits to people from red list countries including India, local media reported.

The countries on the red list include India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Nepal and Vietnam.

The new directive was issued by the Labour Market Regulatory Authority. The decision is based on the directives and recommendations of the national medical taskforce for combating the Covid-19.

The decision is applicable to those outside the kingdom. If people from countries that are on the red list are inside the kingdom then they can apply or renew their work permits, media reported quoting officials. The decision was put in place on May 24, the report added.

Bahrain rostered five countries to its red list due to their surge in coronavirus cases and suspended the entry of travellers coming from those countries since May 24.  Entry of people with visit visas is banned. It is being applied to both e-visas and visas on arrival. Vietnam was later added to the red list countries.

Bahrainis and resident visa holders from these countries are still be allowed entry- but have to present an approved PCR test certificate conducted within 48 hours prior to boarding. They need to undertake another PCR test on arrival and on the 10th day of their stay. In addition, they must quarantine for 10 days at their residence or at a licensed quarantine facility approved by the National Health Regulatory Authority.

Red list countries are modified and updated according to periodical review in line with international developments, they said.