06 August Friday

Dr. V Sivadas, John Brittas Sworn In

Web Desk(Tvm)Updated: Tuesday Jun 8, 2021

New Delhi: Dr. V Sivadas and John Brittas were sworn in as Rajya Sabha MPs on Tuesday. The oaths were administered at chamber of the Rajya Sabha Chairman, Venkiah Naidu.

Dr. Sivadasan’s ascend to Rajya Sabha drew on his robust history of protests that quaked opponents.  Sivadasan who studied in Pala Govt. Higher Secondary Schools was SFI unit secretary in those days and later rose to become SFI’s All-India President. He had been imprisoned in 3 of country’s jails including at Tihar as students’ protest leader.

Meanwhile, staunch Leftist John Brittas is the first visual media journalist to enter Rajya Sabha. Brittas has 3 decades of Left political activism through news media to his credit. Incidentally, his first job as Deshabhimani reporter in Delhi involved reporting news in Rajya Sabha sessions.

The third new MP from Kerala, Abdul Wahab, did not turn up for the oath-taking owing to health reasons.