22 June Tuesday

MK Stalin Takes Charge As Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu; 34 Ministers in Cabinet

Web Desk(Tvm)Updated: Friday May 7, 2021

Chennai : MK Stalin takes charge  as Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu ousting AIADMK of its  decade-old power  in state. Apart from Stalin there are 33 ministers in the cabinet, all of who took oath administered by the state Governor Barwalilal Purohit at 9 am today at Raj Bhavan premises. It would be first-time ministership for 5 of them.  Stalin’s  son, Udhayanidhi  who won from Chenni’s Chepauk-Thiruvalikeni is not part of the cabinet.

DMK  along with allies including Congress won 158  seats  in the 234-member Assembly  while AIADMK won 66 seats and its allies the BJP and PMK won four and five seats respectively. DMK is coming to power after a gap of  13 years. Stalin first became legislator in 1989 though he was not part of the cabinet then.  When DMK came to power in 1996 too, he still continued to an MLA.  Stalin later became Mayor of Chennai – a stint that made his activities  popular and brought him closer to the public.