29 September Thursday

UDF Gets Kottayam Municipality; Bincy Sebastin New Chairperson

Web Desk(TVM)Updated: Monday Nov 15, 2021

Kottayam : UDF candidate Bincy Sebastin wins  Kottayam municipality election as its new chairperson, scoring one vote more than her LDF rival Adv. Sheeja Anil. Bincy secured 22 votes and Sheeja 21.

Sebastin is the municipality’s former  chairperson. Congress did not accede  to Kerala Congress’s demand for  fielding Lncy Kurien. Instead it promised the Standing Committee chairpersnship to Kerala Congress.

UDF gained victory  last time after inducting independent winner  ,Bincy Sebastin, to its  camp. However, UDF fell out power following no-trust motion against it, necessitating the election. The current strength is : LDF - 22, UDF 21, Independent -1, BJP 8.