04 October Tuesday

Pathanamthitta : LDF Wins Two Out Of Three Seats In Panchayat Bypolls

Web Desk(TVM)Updated: Wednesday May 18, 2022

Pathanamthitta : Of the bypolls held in three panchayats of  Pathanamthitta, LDF marked victory in two, one being a  Congress sitting seat. Congress’s loss came in 5th ward of  Ranni Angadi Panchayat. With this, the ward ruled by Congress  from lucky draw  earlier has flipped to LDF side with a simple majority score. LDF candidate for Ranni Angadi was Kunjumaria. She defeated UDF’ s Saramma

LDF also won the 7th ward in Malapally’s Kottanad panchayat where a tie ensued and winner was determined by drawing from the lot. CPI(M)’s Roby Abraham was LDF candidate. Bypoll was necessitated after member Manoj Charal went on to become Devaswom Board member.

In the 18th ward of Konni panchayat, Arvana Balan(UDF) bagged the seat. P Geeta was LDF candidate The seat had fell vacant following the demise of UDF member there.