31 March Friday

Padma Sree For VP Apukuttan; Padma Vibushan to Dilip Mahalanabis

Web Desk(Tvm)Updated: Wednesday Jan 25, 2023

New Delhi : The government on Wednesday announced Padma Awards 2023 ahead of the  Republic day. There are six awardees for Padma Vibhushan, nine for Padma Bhushan and 91 for Padma Sree. VP Appukuttan, the acclaimed Gandhian, is named for Padma Sree. A native of Payannur in Kerala, VP Appukuttan was a freedom fighter and participant of the Quit India movement of 1942.

ORD icon Dilip Mahalanabis(Medicine)  will  receive Padma Vibushan for pioneering use of ORD(Oral Rehydration Solution) that is estimated to have saved more than 5 crore lives globally. Mahalanabis passed away at Kolkata hospital on 16 October 2021 aged 87 from age-related illnesses.

Other Padma Sree awardees are Dr Ratan Chandra Kaur from Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Hirabai Lobi from Gujarat, Dr Munishwar Chander Davar from Madhya Pradesh, Ramkuiwangbe Nevme, also known as Hero of Heraka from Assam, Social activist Shankuratri Chandrasekhar from Andhra, Snake catchers Vativel Gopal and Masi Sadayan from Tamil Nadu, Thula Ram Uprethi from Sikkim, organic farmer Nekram Sharma from Himachal, writer Janum Singh Soi from Jharkhand, Dhaniram Toto from West Bengal, linguist B Ramakrishna Reddy from Telangana, Ajay Kumar Mandavi from Chhattisgarh, folk dance artist Rani Machiah from Karnataka, singer KC Runremsangi from Mizoram, Meghalaya's folk musician Risingbor Kurkalang, West Bengal's Mangala Kanti Roy, Nagaland's Moa Subong, Karnataka's Munivenkadapa, Chhattisgarh's  and Domar Singh Kunwar.