08 February Wednesday

Local Body Bypolls Begin For 42 Wards In State

Web Desk(TVM)Updated: Tuesday May 17, 2022

Thiruvananthapuram : Byelections is underway  for local self-govt bodies in 42 wards in State. Voting began 7 am morning and will last up to 6 pm.

Heavy rains have not hampered voter mood. Voters in large numbers  have shown up at booth in early hours across  wards.

The closely watched byelections in Kochi include Corporation ward apart from 10 others in the district. Voting is underway at Kochi It is bypolls for Crporation ward, Ernakulam South, Thripunitura Municipality, Pishari Kovil, Elamanathopp, Kannathode panchayat, Vembilli, Mayloor in Varpetti panchayat and Athani town in Nedumbassery panchayat.

LDF’s Aswathy S. is contesting from Ernakulam Southm 62 Division. Rivals are : Anitha Warrier(UDF) and Padmaja S Menon(BJP) . The seat fell vacant following demise of BJP councilor Mini R Menon. The present council strength is LDF(38 including independents), UDF 31, BJP(4).

Elamanathoppu in Thripunitura’s 11th Division is also up for polls. Pratheeksha E Diyan is LDF candidate. Others are Shibu Malayil(UDF) and Valli Ravi(BJP), The vacancy came after LDF’s KT Saigal, member of corporation’s  Permanent Committee passed away.

Bypoll is also underway at Pishari Kovil in city’s 40th Division, where Sangeeta Sumesh is contesting for LDF against Shobana Thambi(UDF) and Rati Raju(BJP).  The seat fell vacant following death of  LDF member Rajamma Mohan. The current strength is LDF(23), BJP (15), Congress(8) and Independent (1).

In Kunnathunaadu panchayat 11 division(Vembilli), NO Babu is the LDF candidate. PP George is UDF candidate and Eldo Paul(Twenty20) is third in the fray. Panchayat strength currently is Twenty20(11) , UDF (5) and LDF (1).

In the six ward of Mayloor in Vairapetti Panchayat, Shibu Varkey is LDF candidate up against UDF’s KK Hussain. Current strenth : LDF(3), UDF(8), NDA(1).