11 June Sunday

Candidates List: Arguments in BJP Galore; Election Committee Meeting in Thrissur Today

Web Desk(Tvm)Updated: Thursday Mar 11, 2021

Thrissur : BJP Election Committee will meet in Thrissur today hoping to resolve differences over candidate selection after the Core Committee meeting that saw Amit Shah’s participation failed to find consensus on candidates’ list. RSS has submitted its list suggesting who should contest for the party this time.   BJP is also faced with added headache with several leaders refusing to contest , even as many  others are competing to make their way into the list of candidates somehow.

Actor Suresh Gopi  informed of his refusal to contest early on.  Alphorns Kannanthanam  also gestured he was keeping out of polls and allied parties like PC Thomas, Thushar Vellappally have put their foot down in pair up. Meanwhile,  though Union Deputy Minister V Muraleedharan has expressed desire to contest,  the central leadership is reportedly in no mood to allow that.  Kummanam Rajashekaran will contest from Nemom, VV Rajesh in Vattiyoorcauv and K Surendran in Kazhakuttam.

Elsewhere, BJP committee iis opposing attempts to bring CK Janu back into NDA in Wayanad. There is reportedly opposition to allowing Shoba Surendran fight polls too. The official side holds there is no need for allowing Shoba Surendran after her public declaration of not wanting to contest. After the Thrissur meeting today, the state president K Surendran will send prospective candidates’ list to Delhi and announce the final list only after feedback.