30 January Monday

AAP Uproots BJP In Capital Gaining 134 Seat Victory

Web Desk(Tvm)Updated: Wednesday Dec 7, 2022

New Delhi: In a tightly contested election, Arvind Kejriwal-led AAP unseated incumbent BJP from its 15-year-rule of Municipal Corporation of Delhi(MCD).  AAP secured 134 seats in the 250-member House while BJP  scored 104 and  Congress gains were reduced to nine seats. Independents secured rest 3.

In MCD polls of 2017, BJP won 181 of the total 272 wards while AAP secured just 48 and Congress eked out 30.

AAP office kept balloons and celebratory posters ready since morning and massive celebrations in full swing in the streets of the capital with  supporters dancing to drum beats and children dressed as Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal.

The MCD  was created in 1958 under Municipal Corporation Act and initially had 80 councillors. That number extended to 272 with time as part of keeping up with growing population following delimitation exercises.